REGOX - Provincial Registry of Patients Treated with Long-Term Home Oxygen Therapy

  • Health and social services
Now Recruiting
REGOX - Provincial Registry of Patients Treated with Long-Term Home Oxygen Therapy

This project will collect data from patients on oxygen therapy in order to assess the quality of care and its relevance according to the context of the disease.

Project summary

In Quebec, the importance of home oxygen therapy was recognized by the ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux through the publication of the reference framework for the National Program for Home Oxygen Therapy (NPHOT) in 2011. This document outlines the usual indications for home oxygen therapy, but also highlights the uncertainty surrounding the effects of this home treatment in many clinical circumstances, and points out the existence of disparities in home respiratory care models across Quebec.

The REGOX project aims to create a national registry of patients treated at home with oxygen in order to accumulate data for epidemiological, clinical and research purposes. This registry will be used to collect data to assess the quality and appropriateness of care according to the context of a disease.

The possibilities offered by the creation of such a registry are numerous, ranging from epidemiological surveillance to the description of the natural history of a disease, to the assessment of the quality of care and regional disparities in Quebec. This registry will be an infrastructural resource to support managers, clinicians, and researchers in their efforts to improve patient care.

For more information, please contact the research team at: mathieu.couture@criucpq.qc.ca.

Project team

  • Yves Lacasse

    Lead investigator

    Université Laval

    Quebec Heart and Lung Institute

  • Mathieu Couture

    Research professional

    Université Laval

    Quebec Heart and Lung Institute Research Center

Have questions about this project?

REGOX - Registre provincial de patient(e)s traité(e)s à l’oxygénothérapie à long terme à domicile

  • Services santé et sociaux
En recrutement
REGOX - Registre provincial de patient(e)s traité(e)s à l’oxygénothérapie à long terme à domicile

Ce projet permettra de collecter des données de patient(e)s sous oxygénothérapie afin d’évaluer la qualité des soins et leurs pertinences selon le contexte de la maladie.

Pour vous inscrire, choisissez l'une des options suivantes :

Résumé du projet

Au Québec, l’importance de l’oxygénothérapie à domicile a été reconnue par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux par la publication, en 2011, du cadre de référence du Programme national d’oxygénothérapie à domicile. Ce document fait état des indications usuelles de l’oxygénothérapie à domicile, mais souligne aussi l’incertitude entourant les effets de ce traitement à domicile dans de nombreuses circonstances cliniques, et signale l’existence de disparités dans les modèles de soins respiratoires à domicile sur l’ensemble du territoire québécois. 

Le projet Regox vise à maintenir un registre national des patient(e)s traité(e)s à domicile à l'oxygène dans le but d'accumuler des données à des fins épidémiologiques, cliniques et de recherche. Ce registre servira à collecter des données qui permettront d’évaluer la qualité des soins et leurs pertinences selon le contexte de la maladie. 

Les possibilités offertes par le maintien d’un tel registre sont nombreuses, allant de la surveillance épidémiologique à la description de l’histoire naturelle de la maladie, jusqu’à l’appréciation de la qualité des soins et des disparités régionales au Québec. Ce registre constituera une ressource infrastructurelle visant à soutenir les gestionnaires, les clinicien(ne)s, les chercheuses et les chercheurs dans leurs efforts d’amélioration des soins aux patient(e)s.

Pour plus de renseignements, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec l’équipe de recherche à l’adresse: mathieu.couture@criucpq.ulaval.ca  

Équipe de projet

  • Yves Lacasse

    Chercheur principal

    Université Laval

    Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (IUCPQ)

  • Mathieu Couture

    Professionnel de recherche

    Université Laval

    Centre de recherche de l'Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec

Vous avez des questions en lien avec le projet ?