INSPQ and PULSAR: a promising alliance

  • News
  • Politics, economy and society
INSPQ
  • Published at

    Monday 17 June 2019

Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ) becomes one of PULSAR’s premier scientific partners. This leading centre of expertise in public health will be involved in PULSAR’s work on sustainable health assessment. 

The experts at INSPQ come from a variety of scientific fields (applied, health, social, and humanities) and are known for their expertise in the public health issues facing Québec today. They work with the healthcare network, academic institutions, and research communities to develop and pool their public health knowledge and expertise. 

PULSAR and INSPQ share a common goal to sustainably improve the health and well-being of Quebecers. PULSAR will clearly benefit from its new partner’s wide-ranging expertise:

A source of inspiration for PULSAR

PULSAR will draw on INSPQ researchers’ expertise, methods, and practices, as well as their extensive experience in the field. This partnership will not only benefit the Université Laval scientific community, but also government decision-makers, organizations, and members of the public interested in individual and population health and well-being.

Helping to create indicators of sustainable health and well-being

With the support of Alliance santé Québec, over 150 researchers from 14 Université Laval faculties have been contributing to one of PULSAR’s most important projects since fall 2017: sustainable health assessment. 

INSPQ experts will collaborate on various aspects of the project, including developing the first indicators of sustainable health and well-being. In the coming weeks, they will join Université Laval researchers in various workshops to determine the best ways to assess the many dimensions associated with sustainable health and well-being (e.g., air quality, lifestyles, environment, water quality, mental health, etc.) and evaluate indicators for these dimensions. 

PULSAR’s goal in developing these new indicators of sustainable health and well-being is to foster interdisciplinarity, scientific knowledge sharing, and new opportunities in sustainable health.

These indicators and other sustainable health assessment tools will be unveiled in fall 2019.

L’INSPQ et PULSAR : une alliance prometteuse

  • Nouvelles
  • Politique, économie et société
INSPQ
  • Publié à

    Mardi 5 mars 2019

L’Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ) devient l’un des prestigieux partenaires scientifiques de PULSAR. Ce centre d’expertise et de référence en santé publique s’impliquera dans les travaux de PULSAR sur l’évaluation de la santé durable.

Les experts de l’INSPQ, qui proviennent de différents domaines scientifiques (sciences appliquées, de la santé, sociales ou humaines), possèdent des compétences reconnues sur les problématiques actuelles en santé publique au Québec. Ces derniers collaborent d’ailleurs avec le réseau de la santé et les milieux de l’enseignement et de la recherche pour développer et mettre en commun leurs connaissances et compétences en santé publique. 

PULSAR et l’INSPQ partagent le même objectif d’améliorer, d’une façon durable, la santé et le bien-être de la population québécoise. De toute évidence, PULSAR bénéficiera des multiples champs d’expertise de son nouveau partenaire :

Une source d’inspiration pour PULSAR

PULSAR s’inspirera des expertises, des méthodes et des pratiques des chercheurs de l’INSPQ, notamment de leur vaste expérience sur le terrain. Cette association profitera non seulement aux membres de la communauté scientifique de l’Université Laval, mais aussi aux décideurs publics, aux organisations et aux citoyens qui s’intéressent à la santé et au bien-être des individus et de la population.

Participation à la création d’indicateurs de santé durable et de bien-être

Avec le soutien de l'Alliance santé Québec, plus de 150 chercheurs de 14 facultés de l’Université Laval contribuent, depuis l’automne 2017, au chantier sur l’évaluation de la santé durable, l’un des plus importants chantiers de PULSAR. 

Dans ce chantier, les experts de l’INSPQ collaboreront, entre autres, à l’élaboration des premiers indicateurs de santé durable et de bien-être. Au cours des prochaines semaines, ils prendront part, avec des chercheurs de l’Université Laval, à divers ateliers pour identifier les meilleures façons d’évaluer un grand nombre de dimensions associées à la santé durable et au bien-être. Qualité de l’air, habitudes de vie, environnement, qualité de l’eau et santé mentale sont des exemples de dimensions pour lesquelles des indicateurs seront évalués. 

Grâce au développement de ces nouveaux indicateurs de santé durable et de bien-être, PULSAR souhaite favoriser l’interdisciplinarité, le partage des connaissances scientifiques et la création de nouvelles opportunités en santé durable.

Ces indicateurs et d’autres outils sur l’évaluation de la santé durable seront dévoilés à l’automne 2019.