Québec eating habits under the microscope

  • News
  • Life Habits
NutriQuébec
  • Published at

    Monday 17 June 2019

NutriQuébec, the largest prospective study ever conducted on the long-term eating habits of Quebec adults, will begin in June. This research project has received the Alliance santé Québec sustainable health project seal.

Québec researchers will collect a multitude of data over several years from project participants. The data will concern their dietary habits, physical activity, sleep habits, drug consumption (tobacco, alcohol, and other drugs), financial access to food, and overall state of health (physical, mental, quality of life).

This project study is being carried out as part of the Government of Québec’s 2017–2021 interministerial action plan, which aims to achieve the nine targets of the government’s fall of 2016 preventive health policy by 2025. 

The Government of Québec’s targets include getting more than half of Quebecers to consume a minimum of five servings of fruits and vegetables per day. The World Health Organisation recommends that people “consume more than 400 g (the equivalent of five servings) of fruits and vegetables per day to improve overall health and reduce the risk of certain non-communicable diseases such as cardiovascular disease, certain types of cancer, diabetes, and obesity.” 

According to the Québec PREDISE study published in December 2018 in the Canadian Journal of Cardiology, “less than 25% of participants [francophone adults in five regions of Québec with Internet access] were following the recommendations of Canada’s Food Guide [2007 version] regarding the consumption of vegetables and fruits [at least seven or eight servings a day, according to their age and sex]”.  

Emphasis on monitoring and analyzing eating habits 

The Government of Québec is funding the NutriQuébec project to assess the impacts of its preventive health policy and to monitor and analyze changes in the eating habits of Québec adults. The Cardiometabolic Health, Diabetes and Obesity Research Network is also providing financial support for the project.

“There is very little data that is both detailed and frequent on the eating habits of the Québec population,” says Catherine Laramée, a nutritionist and the coordinator of the NutriQuébec project. “The Canadian Community Health Survey, which includes data on Canadians’ eating habits, is conducted about every 10 years. It never looks at the eating habits of the same people over time to find out whether or not they develop health problems. What sets the NutriQuébec project apart is that it is creating a large cohort of participants who will be monitored over time to give us a better understanding of the reasons why people stay healthy.”

Led by Benoît Lamarche, a full professor and researcher at the School of Nutrition in the Université Laval Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences, NutriQuébec draws on the expertise of an interdisciplinary team of researchers from Université Laval (Ariane Bélanger-Gravel, Sophie Desroches, Simone Lemieux), McGill University (David Buckeridge), Université de Montréal (Lise Gauvin), Institut national de santé publique du Québec (Céline Plante), and Statistics Canada (Didier Garriguet). Institute of Nutrition and Functional Food (INAF) research professionals Catherine Laramée and Annie Lapointe and a number of nutrition students are also contributing to the research.

Seeking 30,000 participants

NutriQuébec researchers want to recruit up to 30,000 adults from all regions of Québec and all socioeconomic backgrounds. For at least four years, participants will be required to complete, once a year, various questionnaires on their lifestyle on NutriQuébec highly secure Web platform. Their eating habits will be measured using a unique Web tool developed at INAF, the 24-Hour Recall Web platform, which will be used to record all food consumed by participants in a day three times a month. The researchers will also measure other factors that can have an impact on their eating habits, such as physical activity levels and sleep patterns.

PULSAR will ethically and securely manage the personal data collected to protect its confidentiality, in full compliance with the laws in force in Québec and Canada, and in accordance with Université Laval information security policies.

Participants will be registered on the NutriQuébec website. In return for their contribution, they will receive a brief nutritional assessment free of charge. “The men and women taking part in the NutriQuébec study will help researchers identify the factors with the biggest influence on health and improve the health of all Quebecers by providing policy direction on healthy lifestyles,” says Catherine Laramée.

Depending on the funding sources available, the NutriQuébec team hopes to continue its project for 25 years. Throughout the project, NutriQuébec will share its preliminary findings with public organizations (e.g., Government of Québec, INSPQ, Statistics Canada), other researchers, and the public through knowledge transfer activities (talks, continuing education sessions) and its scientific publications, on its website and its Facebook page.

Les habitudes de vie des Québécois scrutées à la loupe

  • Nouvelles
  • Habitudes de vie
NutriQuébec
  • Publié à

    Mardi 5 mars 2019

NutriQuébec, la plus vaste étude prospective encore jamais réalisée sur les habitudes de vie à long terme des adultes québécois, s’amorcera en juin. Ce projet de recherche a reçu le sceau Projet de marque en santé durable, Alliance santé Québec

Sur plusieurs années, des chercheurs québécois recueilleront une multitude de données auprès des participants à leur projet. Ces données concerneront leurs habitudes alimentaires, leur activité physique, leur sommeil, leur de consommation (tabac, alcool, drogues), leur accès financier aux aliments et leur état de santé global (physique, mental, qualité de vie).

Ce projet est réalisé dans la cadre du plan d’action interministériel 2017-2021 du gouvernement du Québec qui vise l’atteinte, d’ici 2025, des neuf cibles de la Politique gouvernementale de prévention en santé dévoilée à l’automne 2016.

Parmi ses cibles, le gouvernement du Québec souhaite que plus de la moitié des Québécois et des Québécoises consomment un minimum de cinq portions de fruits et de légumes par jour. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé recommande d’ailleurs «de consommer plus de 400 g [l’équivalent de cinq portions] de fruits et de légumes par jour pour améliorer la santé en général et réduire le risque de certaines maladies non transmissibles [ex. : maladies cardiovasculaires, certains types de cancers, diabète et obésité]». 

Selon l’étude québécoise PREDISE publiée en décembre 2018 dans le Journal canadien de cardiologie, «moins de 25 % des participants [adultes francophones de cinq régions du Québec ayant accès à Internet] suivaient les recommandations du Guide alimentaire canadien [version 2007] en ce qui concerne la consommation de légumes et de fruits [au moins sept ou huit portions par jour, selon leur âge et leur sexe]». 

Accent sur le suivi et l’analyse des habitudes alimentaires 

Le gouvernement du Québec finance le projet NutriQuébec pour évaluer les impacts de sa politique (PGPS) ainsi que pour suivre et analyser l’évolution des habitudes alimentaires des adultes québécois. Le Réseau de recherche en santé cardiométabolique, diabète et obésité soutient également financièrement ce projet.

«Très peu de données fréquentes et détaillées existent sur les habitudes alimentaires de la population québécoise, indique Catherine Laramée, nutritionniste et professionnelle de recherche dans l’étude NutriQuébec. L’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes, qui porte notamment sur les habitudes alimentaires des Canadiens, est réalisée environ tous les dix ans. Elle ne suit jamais les habitudes alimentaires des mêmes participants dans le temps, notamment pour savoir s’ils vont développer ou non des problèmes de santé. L’originalité du projet NutriQuébec, c’est de vouloir obtenir une grande cohorte de participants pour les suivre dans le temps, de façon à essayer de mieux comprendre les raisons pour lesquelles les gens restent en santé.» 

Sous la direction scientifique de Benoît Lamarche, professeur titulaire et chercheur à l’École de nutrition de la Faculté des sciences de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation de l’Université Laval, l’équipe interdisciplinaire est composée de chercheurs de l’Université Laval (Ariane Bélanger-Gravel, Sophie Desroches, Simone Lemieux), de l’Université McGill (David Buckeridge), de l’Université de Montréal (Lise Gauvin), de l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec (Céline Plante) et de Statistique Canada (Didier Garriguet). Les professionnelles de recherche de l’Institut sur la nutrition et les aliments fonctionnels, Catherine Laramée et Annie Lapointe, et des étudiants en nutrition collaborent également à la recherche.

30 000 participants recherchés

Les chercheurs de NutriQuébec souhaitent recruter jusqu’à 30 000 adultes dans toutes les régions du Québec et de tous les niveaux socio-économiques. Durant au moins quatre ans, les participants devront remplir, une fois par année, sur le site Web sécurisé de NutriQuébec, divers questionnaires sur leurs habitudes de vie. Pour le volet sur les habitudes alimentaires, ils utiliseront aussi un outil Web développé à l’INAF, le Rappel alimentaire de 24 heures sur plateforme Web, afin de répertorier à trois reprises durant un mois les aliments qu’ils ont consommés dans une journée. Les chercheurs mesureront également d’autres facteurs qui peuvent avoir des impacts sur leurs habitudes alimentaires comme le niveau d’activité physique et les habitudes de sommeil. 

PULSAR sera en charge de la gestion des données personnelles recueillies, de façon éthique et sécuritaire, pour assurer leur confidentialité, dans le plus grand respect des lois en vigueur au Québec et au Canada, et selon les politiques en matière de sécurité de l’information de l’Université Laval.

L’inscription des participants s’effectuera sur le site Web de NutriQuébec. En retour de leur contribution, ces derniers recevront gratuitement leur bilan alimentaire annuel. «Ils contribueront à aider les chercheurs à identifier les facteurs qui influencent le plus la santé et à améliorer la santé de tous les Québécois et Québécoises en orientant les politiques sur les saines habitudes de vie», souligne Catherine Laramée.

En fonction des sources de financement disponibles, l’équipe de NutriQuébec souhaite que son projet se poursuive durant 25 ans. Tout au long du projet, elle partagera ses résultats préliminaires aux organisations publiques (ex. : gouvernement du Québec, INSPQ, Statistique Canada), aux autres chercheurs et aux citoyens, lors d’activités de transfert de connaissances (conférences, journées de formation continue) et dans publications scientifiques, sur son site Web et sa page Facebook.